Kingdom Hearts 3 Review

kh3header

It is like a dream comes true. Kingdom Hearts 3 finally at our hand playing it and enjoying it to the fullest. Even right now, I cannot believe that I actually have played it. While I was playing, I felt like I was dreaming the whole time and after I finished it I felt like that dream has ended and left me with many emotions. I have many things that I love to say so the following is going to contain spoilers so proceed at your own risk.

Gameplay:

Ok, first I like to admire the gameplay. It was so much fun especially the magic. I loved casting magic all the time and Iโ€™ve never thought they are going to bring water and aero back, I was so happy. The attractions were so enjoyable especially Magic Carousel. Also, the transformation of each Keybalde was so creative, I loved using each one of them, and that Elsa move that Sora did with the Frozen Keyblade! Oh my god, that one was so beautiful. Some of the mini-games were fun like the dancing festival at the Kingdom of Corona, but others were a little boring to repeat. The summons weren’t even necessary since I’ve never used them. I think the only summons that I actually enjoy was at KH1. The magic was really rewarding and I kept seeing myself using it a lot.

Soundtrack:
Now moving to the soundtrack. I enjoyed some of the soundtracks like Pirate of the Caribbean, Toy Box (you have a friend in me), and the gummi ship, but the other wasnโ€™t really memorable or enjoyable to listen too, especially that one at Arendelle. It was so sad I hate listening to it. Also, I was disappointed with Dearly Beloved. It was totally different from the other games. The opening was not in synch with the cinematic movie.

Disney Worlds:ย 
Moving to the worlds. I have few concerns with Disney worlds. First, I like to say that I enjoyed the small interaction between Sora and Rapunzel: blowing dandelions, splashing water, saving rabbits and all that, it was fun. However, I felt that in the Frozen, Tangled, and pirate of the Caribbean they removed many important scenes from the movies. In frozen, it felt that Sora didnโ€™t contribute much in that world, and that really made me sad because I really love Frozen so much and was so excited to play it. I really thought heโ€™s going to help Elsa recovering and encourage her but nothing, he only talked to her once and thatโ€™s it. Also, when Hans suddenly showed up without any introduction!! In the Pirate of the Caribbean, since I havenโ€™t seen the movie, I didnโ€™t understand a thing about what is happening, even though in KH2 I didnโ€™t watch the first movie but I still understand the main story of the world. The Franstokyo world was a little boring too. Twilight Town was small comparing it to KH2, and when I explore it, I was like โ€œthatโ€™s it? Thatโ€™s all of Twilight Town?โ€

Story:
I felt that the story was a little rushed like they just want to finish it.
Good parts: The ending was so beautiful, gorgeous, and precious. Also, when they save Aqua it was the best part, I just start crying tears of joy. Then when Ven met Sora, it was interesting, especially Venโ€™s reaction. The part when Terra protected Ven and Aqua ;; aaah god this was the happiest moment. And I just want to say that I’m not one of those who are complaining about the ending, in contrary I LOVE IT.
Not likable parts: The final battles, when Xion was just there, she wasnโ€™t norted or controlled, they didnโ€™t explain how she excited while her heart is inside Sora, when I saw here I was like โ€œseriously?โ€ Then Roxas who just jumped from nowhere and has his personality while his heart also inside Sora (maybe they took his data from data Twilight Town but still) didnโ€™t like that part much. The ending of each organization member was a little lacking and didnโ€™t enjoy it that much, especially Marulxia and Laruxene. The most part that I was excited to see is when Sora finally see Vanitus, but they didnโ€™t handle this part very well. I really wanted Ven to accept Vanitus and welcome him as his brother thatโ€™s part of him but his speech wasnโ€™t convincing at all, and I really felt bad for Vanitus (I really hope he comes back since death you know not an option in this series?). They also didnโ€™t explain what happened to Vexen and Demyx. There is this thing that bother me, when Ven FINALLY sees Roxas, the reaction was soooo disappointing, like you are seeing someone looks EXACTLY like you and you’re like “oh!” and then continue ( I know it’s the situation and all but STILL!).ย  And finally Kairi the most hated character, I really thought that Iโ€™m going to change my opinion of her in this game but nooooo she becomes more detestable and destiny has other plans for her. Her only job in this series is to get kidnapped and ruin everything, and they keep using her as a plot device in every game. Iโ€™m sure theyโ€™re not going to change her even in the future game so she is irredeemable (her death is not an option, and her development is not an option it seems). I hate how they didnโ€™t explain how Sora went to save her and then disappear. Also, to be honest, I donโ€™t really care about what happens to Sora lol. Namine the poor girl didnโ€™t get any cut-scene, I donโ€™t know why they even include her in the box art. However, that ending when all of them were playing in Destiny Island was so precious (but Kairi has to ruin the nice atmosphere doesn’t she?).

Epilogue:
After seeing the epilogue I become excited because I really like KHUxโ€™s story. I find it more interesting then Xehanort saga (lol sorry). The foretellers seem to be interesting and I can’t wait to know more about them and see their faces. I really hope next game will cover all the missing parts and give us the five union leaders together (not sure that Blain or Brain is going to appear tho) Also, I’m happy that Strelitzia is returning, thatโ€™s what I believe when I saw that scene.

This review is based on my Japanese playthrough, not full understanding of the game only 60% part of the game xD I might add some things after finishing my English playthrough.

Overall score: 8/10

Leave a comment